West Windsor NJ DWI Lawyers

Arrested for DWI Charge in West Windsor? Call Criminal Defense Lawyer Keith G. OliverAlthough DWI offenses are considered traffic in nature in New Jersey, the overall penalties if convicted are crippling. New Jersey has some of the harshest penalties when it comes to driving while intoxicated offenses. They include, a mandatory lengthy license suspension, high fines, community service, even jail time and that includes first time offenders as well. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in West Windsor, it is crucial that you speak to not only an experienced DWI defense lawyer but an experienced West Windsor Municipal Court lawyer. On top of the crippling penalties, plea bargaining is not allowed for DUI offenses. In fact, to put that into perspective, they are one of only two charges in the entire New Jersey Criminal Code where plea bargaining is prohibited.

How can a West Windsor DWI Defense Attorney help?

If you have been charged with a DWI in West Windsor, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Our attorneys have been representing clients accused of DWI for almost a decade now. These offenses are very fact specific and as such require an experienced DUI defense attorney. Since there is no plea bargaining, one of the firm’s founding partners has sought out and obtained specialized training in the DWI defense arena.  He is actually a certified standardized field sobriety test (SFST) instructor and has been certified to be an operator of the Alcotest Machine as well. These are the two key pieces of evidence used by the prosecution during a DWI trial. If you would like to speak to one of our West Windsor DUI defense attorneys then please contact us directly at (609)789-0779. We understand that these types of charges happen at all hours of the day so we are available 24/7 to help provide assistance.

What Happens After I get Charged with a DUI in West Windsor?

If you have been arrested for a driving while intoxicated in West Windsor, New Jersey you will be summonsed to appear in the West Windsor Municipal Court to answer those charges. The West Windsor Municipal Court is located at  271 Clarksville Road. Since these offenses are traffic in nature, a Defendant will only be entitled to a bench trial as opposed to a jury trial. Therefore, it is the Judge, Kenneth W. Lozier, who will be the sole decision maker, he will determine whether or not the State has proven their case beyond a reasonable doubt or not. One other thing to keep in mind is that DWI offenses in New Jersey are also enhanceable offenses as well. Meaning that the penalties for every second or subsequent offense will drastically increase. Here is a breakdown in those potential penalties.

What are the Penalties DWI’s in New Jersey?

First Offense DUI: When the Blood Alcohol Content is less than .10%

  • Three Month Loss of  License;
  • A fine up to $400;
  • 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC);
  • About $325 in Fees & Assessments.

First Offense DUI: When the Blood Alcohol Content is greater than .10%

  • Seven to twelve Month Loss of License;
  • A fine up to $500;
  • 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC);
  • Up to 30 Days in the Mercer County Jail;
  • About $325 in Fees & Assessments;

Second Offense DUI: The Blood Alcohol Content is Irrelevant

  • Mandatory two year Loss of License;
  • A fine up to $1,000;
  • 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC);
  • Mandatory 48 hour jail sentence, which may be served in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)  (Max Jail Sentence 90 days);
  • Mandatory 30 Days of Community Service;
  • About $325 in Fees & Assessments.

Third Offense DUI: The Blood Alcohol Content is Irrelevant

  • Mandatory ten year loss of license;
  • A mandatory $1,000 fine;
  • Mandatory 180 days in the Mercer County Jail – {90 days may be served in an inpatient rehab};
  • About $325 in Fees & Assessments;
  • Up to 90 Days of Community Service.

DUI Lawyer in West Windsor NJ

The Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver defends clients accused of driving while intoxicated, endangering the welfare of a child, aggravated assault, assault by auto, refusal or driving under the influence in Mercer County. If you have been arrested for any of the aforementioned offenses our office can help. Our specialized DWI defense training gives our attorneys various different angles to attack the State’s case. If you would like to come into our office for a free initial consultation then please contact us at (609)789-0779. These are very time sensitive cases, so if you have any questions do not hesitate to ask.