Third Offense DWI

Facing a 3rd Offense DUI Charge in New Jersey?

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence in Mercer County? Is this considered a third or subsequent offense? If so, it is imperative that you contact an experienced DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. As you will see below, unlike a first or second DWI offense, where jail time is discretionary, when it comes to a third or subsequent DWI offense, the jail time is mandatory. When you combine the mandatory jail time with the mandatory ten year loss of license, the penalties associated with a third offense DUI can be absolutely crippling. If you would like to speak to one of the DUI defense attorneys at Proetta & Oliver about your options, then please contact our Hamilton Office at 609-789-0799. Our initial consultations are always free of costs, so if you have any questions whatsoever, please do not hesitate to contact us. We serve all of Mercer County, including towns like Hamilton, Ewing, West Windsor, East Windsor, Lawrenceville, Hopewell, Princeton and Robbinsville.

Hamilton NJ 3rd Offense DWI Defense Attorney

How can a lawyer help with a third offense DUI?

As I am sure most of you are well aware of by this point, plea bargaining is prohibited when it comes to driving while intoxicated offenses. That is why it is absolutely crucial that you speak to an experienced DWI defense lawyer immediately about your options. One of the members of our firm has sought out and obtained specialized DUI defense training in order to better represent our clients. That training includes but is not limited to being a certified instructor of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests and a certified administrator of the Alcotest Machine. These are the two key pieces of evidence used in almost every DWI trial in New Jersey. Having this knowledge allows our office to better explore every possible angle when it comes to defending those accused of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey. Some of the key areas that we can look to exploit include but are not limited too:

  • Field Sobriety Tests;
  • Alcotest Machine;
  • Probable Cause for the Stop;
  • Officers Observations;
  • Probable Cause to Arrest; &
  • Operational Issues.

To speak to one of our Mercer County criminal defense lawyers today, then please contact our Hamilton Office at 609-789-0779.

Can I Avoid Jail on a 3rd Offense DUI in NJ?

As mentioned briefly above, the penalties associated with a third or subsequent DWI offense are severe. They include the following:

  • Mandatory 10 Year Loss of License;
  • Mandatory 180 Days in County Jail*;
  • Up to 90 Days of Community Service;
  • 12 – 48 Hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center;
  • Fine in the Amount $1,000;
  • Imposition in the Ignition Interlock Device.

*It is possible for the Court to allow the Defendant to serve 90 of the 180 day jail term in an inpatient treatment center.

DUI Defense Lawyer in East Windsor New Jersey

Proetta & Oliver represents those not only accused of driving while intoxicated but refusal to submit a breath sample, assault by auto, death by auto, endangering the welfare of a child for DUI and eluding in courts throughout Mercer County. If you would like to speak to one of our DUI lawyers about your options, then please contact our office at 609-789-0779. One of our attorneys would be glad to go over the specifics of your case and give you our honest opinion on how we think we can be of assistance. So, if you have any questions at all, please do not hesitate to contact us. We serve all of Mercer County, including Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton, Trenton, Ewing and Hamilton.

Potential Related Charges: