Our experienced criminal defense attorneys represent clients against State and Federal criminal charges in Mercer County, NJ, from Speeding and DUI offenses to Aggravated Assault and Domestic Violence Restraining Orders GET A FREE CONSULTATION
Although DWI charges are considered traffic offenses in New Jersey as opposed to criminal offenses like they are in most other states, that is really the only lenient aspect of our DWI laws. A DUI conviction in New Jersey carries with it a mandatory license loss and high fines, even if it is your first offense. If it is a second or subsequent offense the penalties drastically increase, including a mandatory 180 days in the county jail. Furthermore, there is no plea bargaining allowed for DWI / DUI charges in New Jersey and since they are considered traffic offense, you are not entitled to a jury trial either. So, if you choose to take your case to trial, the trier of fact, the sole person who will decide your fate, is the Judge. If you have been charged with a DWI offense in Robbinsville, New Jersey it is crucial that you seek the assistance of not only an experienced DWI defense lawyer but an experienced Robbinsville Municipal Court defense lawyer as well. Our office defends clients accused of DWI, DUI and refusal to submit to a breath sample in the Robbinsville Municipal Court.
How Can A DWI Lawyer Dismiss My Drunk Driving Charge?
One of the firm’s founding partners has been certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as an instructor of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests and has been certified by Draegar on the operations and maintenance of the Alcotest. The Alcotest is New Jersey’s breathalyzer. These are the two main pieces of evidence that the prosecution uses when trying to convict someone of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey. If you have been charged with a DUI in Robbinsville and would like to discuss your options with an experienced DUI defense lawyer then please contact us at (609) 789-0779. We try to make ourselves available around the clock to help assist in anyway possible. We fully understand that these types of offenses can happen at any point in time. So if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us. Knowing your rights is important.
What Happens After You Are Arrested for DWI in Robbinsville, NJ
If you have been arrested and charged with DWI in Robbinsville, New Jersey you will be forced to answer these charges in the Robbinsville Municipal Court. The Robbinsville Municipal Court is located at 1117 Route 130 and court will be held every other Tuesday at 4 p.m. and every other Thursday at 9 a.m.. The Honorable R. Douglas Hoffman is the presiding Judge for the Robbinsville Municipal Court. He will be the trier of fact and his job is to determine whether the State has proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the Defendant operated his vehicle while under the influence. If you need to contact the Robbinsville Municipal Court for any reasons they can be reached at 609-259-3522. For specific directions, please use the map below.
DWI Lawyer in Robbinsville NJ
The Robbinsville Police Department issues over 125 DWI / DUI offenses each and every year. That is a tremendous amount of DWI offenses for a rather small town. Even if it is a first offense, a Defendant convicted of a DWI will be facing up to a twelve month loss of their driving privileges, a fine up to $500, twelve hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC), the ignition interlock device and a $3,000 insurance surcharge. That is just for a first offense, the penalties drastically increase for a second or subsequent offense. On top of that, a Defendant convicted of driving while suspended for a DWI conviction will face mandatory jail time. As you can tell, these are very serious offenses and one’s that should not be taken lightly. If you would like to come into our office for a free consultation then please contact us at (609) 789-0779.