Princeton NJ DWI Lawyers

Need Local Attorney for DWI Charge in Princeton NJ. It is well known by now that New Jersey has some of the harshest DWI penalties in the entire Country. In fact, the only lenient aspect of the entire statute is the fact that it is not considered a criminal offense. Meaning, that if you were to be convicted of a DWI, you would not be scarred with a criminal record. Outside of that, every other aspect of the statute is devastating. If you have been arrested and issued a summons for driving while intoxicated in Princeton, New Jersey it is crucial that you speak to an experienced DWI defense attorneys as soon as possible. Hiring the right attorney can make a tremendous difference when it comes to defending your case. First and foremost, there is no plea bargaining DWI offenses in New Jersey. Meaning, that in order to obtain a favorable outcome, you must establish bona fide legal defense. Therefore, when hiring an attorney, it is key that you hire not only an experienced DWI defense attorney but an experienced Princeton Municipal Court defense attorney.

Will Hiring an Attorney Make a Difference for DWI in Princeton NJ?

Mr. Proetta, one of the firm’s founding partners, has received  specialized DWI defense training over the years. He has been certified as an instructor for the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFST) and he has been certified as an operator of the Alcotest Machine. These are the two main pieces of evidence that the prosecution needs to use in order to prove a Defendant guilty at trial. Bringing this specialized training to the firm gives our Princeton DUI defense lawyers an angle to attack the State’s case. If you would like to come into our office and speak to one of our dwi defense attorneys about your options then please contact us at (609)789-0779. We are available around the clock to help assist in anyway that we can. We are well aware that these types of charges can happen at all hours of the day.

What is the Difference between a DUI & DWI in Princeton NJ?

New Jersey treats driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated charges as the same offenses. They are  governed in New Jersey  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Pursuant to the statute, DWI offenses are enhanceable offenses. What that means is that the penalties drastically increase for any second or subsequent DWI conviction. That is regardless of where any of the prior DUI convictions may have occurred.  In addition to that, since DWI charges are traffic in nature, a Defendant facing a DWI charge is not entitled to a jury trial either. Therefore, the Judge is the sole trier of fact. He will be the one who makes the ultimate decision on guilt or innocence. As you can tell, DWI’s are very complex cases in New Jersey and as such require the assistance of an experienced Princeton DUI defense lawyer. If you would like to speak to one of our Princeton DWI defense lawyers now please contact us at (609)789-0779. Now here is the potential penalties that one faces if they are charged with a DWI in Princeton New Jersey.

What are the Penalties for a DWI in Princeton NJ?

As touched upon above, DWI offenses are enhanceable offenses in New Jersey.

1st Offense DUI: Lower Tier in NJ: Defendant’s BAC is less than .10%

If a Defendant is facing a first offense DWI conviction in Princeton, New Jersey and the BAC is less than a .10% they will be facing the following penalties: a mandatory 3 month loss of license, up to 30 days in the Mercer County Jail, a fine up to $400, 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center and assessments nearing $350.

1st Offense DUI in NJ: Defendant’s BAC is greater than .10%

If a Defendant is facing a first offense DUI conviction in Princeton, New Jersey and the BAC is greater than a .10% they will be facing the following penalties: a mandatory 7 to 12 month loss of license, up to 30 days in the Mercer County Jail, a fine up to $400, 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, assessments nearing $350 and mandatory ignition interlock device if BAC is .15% or greater.

2nd Offense DWI in NJ:

If a Defendant is facing a second offense DUI conviction in Princeton, New Jersey they will be facing the following penalties: a mandatory 2 year loss of license, a fine up to $1,000, 2 to 90 days in the Mercer County Jail (48 hours of which may be served in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center), assessments nearing $350, mandatory 30 days of community service and mandatory ignition interlock device. A Defendant’s BAC is irrelevant for this type of offense.

3rd or Subsequent Offense DUI in NJ:

If a Defendant is facing a third offense DUI conviction in Princeton, New Jersey they will be facing the following penalties: a mandatory 10 year loss of license, a fine up to $1,000, mandatory 180 days in the Mercer County Jail (90 days of which may be served in an inpatient rehab facility), assessments nearing $350, up to 90 days of community service and mandatory ignition interlock device. A Defendant’s BAC is irrelevant for this type of offense.

DUI Defense Attorneys in Princeton NJ

If you have been charged with a DUI offense in Princeton, New Jersey the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Our DUI defense attorneys fully understand what a lengthy licenses suspension, let alone time in the county jail could do to one’s future. These are very serious offenses and since there is no plea bargaining, it is crucial that you retain an experienced DWI defense lawyer to handle these charges.  If you would like to speak to one of our attorneys today about your options then please call us at (609) 789-0779. We are ready and willing to fight to protect your rights.