DUI Lawyer in Lawrence NJ

Need a Lawyer for DWI Charge Lawrenceville NJ

DUI Charge near me in Lawrenceville NJ

Although DWI offenses are considered traffic in nature in New Jersey that is about the only lenient aspect that they possess. In fact, New Jersey has some of the toughest DWI penalties in the entire Country. They include mandatory license loss, high fines, potential incarceration, the installation of the ignition interlock device and that is for first time offenders too. If you have been issued a summons for a DWI / DUI or Refusal to Submit to a Breath Sample in Lawrence Township you must appear in the Lawrence Township Municipal Court to answer for those charges. It is important to note here that there is no plea bargaining when it comes to DWI charges in New Jersey. What that means is that regardless of the hardships that you can present to the prosecutor, if you do not have a bona fide legal defense, the outcome of your case will not be favorable. To put that into perspective, there are only two offenses in the entire New Jersey Criminal Code where plea bargaining is not allowed: DWI offenses and possession of marijuana under 50 grams. You can plea bargain a drug distribution case, a robbery case, a rape case and even a homicide case but not a DWI. Therefore, it is crucial that you hire not only an experienced DWI defense attorney but an experienced Lawrence Township Municipal Court defense attorney.

How can a DUI Lawyer help with my case?

Our office defends clients accused of driving while intoxicated in the Lawrence Township Municipal Court, which is located at 2211 Lawrenceville Road. One of the firm’s founding partners has received special training with regards to the two main pieces of evidence used in a DWI trial. He has been certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as an Instructor for Standard Field Sobriety Testing and certified by Draeger as an operator of the Alcotest machine, which is the machine that New Jersey uses to determine a Defendant’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). Attacking these two pieces of evidence are key to successfully defending a client accused of driving under the influence. If you would like to come into our office for a free face to face consultation then please contact us directly at (609) 789-0779. These offenses are very time sensitive and require immediate action. So if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact one our New Jersey Driving While Intoxicated defense attorneys.

What are the Penalties for DWI in NJ?

DWI charges are enhanceable offenses, meaning that the penalties drastically increase if the Defendant is convicted of a second or subsequent offense. Prior DWI convictions for sentencing purposes in New Jersey does count out of state convictions as well. Here is a breakdown of the potential penalties that a Defendant faces if convicted of a first, second or third DUI offense in New Jersey.

First Offense DUI Penalties in NJ: If the BAC is > .10%

  • Mandatory 3 Month Loss of Driver’s License;
  • Up to 30 Days in the Mercer County Jail;
  • 12 Hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC);
  • Fees & Assessments Approx. $800;
  • $1,000 a year Insurance Surcharge for 3 years.

First Offense DUI Penalties in NJ: If the BAC is < .10%

  • Mandatory 7 to 12 Month Loss of Driver’s License;
  • Up to 30 Days in the Mercer County Jail;
  • 12 Hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC);
  • Fees & Assessments Approx. $800;
  • $1,000 a year Insurance Surcharge for 3 years;
  • If BAC is .15% or Above Ignition Interlock Device is Mandatory.

Second Offense DWI Penalties in NJ:

  • Mandatory 2 year Loss of Driver’s License;
  • Up to 90 Days in the Mercer County Jail;
  • 48 Hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC);
  • Fees & Assessments Approx. $1,000;
  • $1,000 a year Insurance Surcharge for 3 years;
  • 30 Days of Community Service;
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for 1 to 3 years.

Third Offense DUI Penalties in NJ:

  • Mandatory 10 year Loss of Driver’s License;
  • Mandatory 180 Days in the Mercer County Jail, 90 Days can be served in an Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility;
  • Fees & Assessments Approx. $1,000;
  • $1,000 a year Insurance Surcharge for 3 years;
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for 1 to 3 years.

When do DUI Charges get Erased from my record?

It is important to note here, that if ten or more years have expired between DWI convictions, a Defendant may be eligible for what is known in the industry as a step down. A step down will allow for a Defendant to be sentenced as one offense level lower. For more information on this and how it applies please contact us directly at (609) 789-0779.

DUI Lawyer in Lawrenceville NJ

If you have been issued a DWI offense in Lawrence, New Jersey, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Our office has been defending clients accused of driving while intoxicated in the Lawrence Municipal Court for years. If you would like to come into our office for a face to face consultation with one of our Lawrence DWI defense attorneys then please contact us at (609) 789-0779. We are available around the clock to help assist in anyway possible and as always our initial consultations are free.