Legal News
Contact us
Princeton office
100 Horizon Center Boulevard
Hamilton, NJ 08691
Office visits are by appointment only
Map and Directions →

Call us 24 / 7
Map and Directions →
Free Consultation 24/7

First Offense DWI

Facing a First Offense DUI in West Windsor New Jersey?

Driving while intoxicated offenses tend to be very complex. The vast majority of success stories center around being able to exploit an otherwise relatively minor issue. New Jersey in essence treats driving while intoxicated and driving under the influence offenses as one in the same when it comes to sentencing purposes. Even for a first time offender, the penalties can be extremely harsh. As you will see below, they include high fines, insurance surcharges, community service, lengthy license suspension as well as jail time. That is why we strongly recommend that if you find yourself in this very unfortunate situation, that you contact a knowledgable DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.

At Proetta & Oliver we are well aware of what a conviction for a first offense dui can do to someones life. As such, one of our lawyers has sought out and obtained specialized DUI defense training in order to better serve our clients needs. This training includes being certified as an administrator of the Alcotest Machine as well as a certified instructor of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. These are the two key pieces of evidence used in almost every DWI trial in New Jersey. If you would like to speak to one of our lawyers about your options then please contact our Hamilton office at 609-789-0779 or you can try contacting us online. Our office appears in courts throughout Mercer County, including courts in towns like Hamilton, Ewing, Robbinsville, West Windsor, East Windsor, Princeton, Trenton, Hightstown and Lawrenceville.

Is a DUI in NJ a Felony Offense in NJ? 

No, DUI charges in New Jersey are considered traffic offenses. Which means, even if convicted, the DUI will not show up on a criminal background check. However, that is about the only lenient aspect of the DUI statute in New Jersey. DWI offenses are enhanceable offenses, in other words, the penalties drastically increase for a second or subsequent conviction. DUI convictions in other State do count as well. In addition, unlike New York and many other jurisdictions, New Jersey does not allow for what is known as a temporary / work license.

How Long Will I Lose my License for in NJ for a First Offense DUI?

For a first offense DUI, the legislature has broken the statue into two different subsections: when the Blood Alcohol Content is between a .08% and when the Blood Alcohol Content is above a .10%. The penalties are as follows:

BAC .08 – .10%

  • 3 Month Loss of License
  • $250-$400 in Fines
  • $50 VCCB
  • $100 DDEF
  • $75 SNSF
  • 12 – 58 Hours IDRC
  • Interlock Discretionary

BAC Above .10%

  • 7 -12 Month Loss of License
  • $300-$500 in Fines
  • $50 VCCB
  • $100 DDEF
  • $75 SNSF
  • 12 – 58 Hours IDRC
  • Interlock Mandatory if BAC Above .15%

Charged with a First Offense DWI in Robbinsville NJ

As you can see, the penalties associated, even with a first offense DUI, can be crippling. If you would like to come into our office and have a face-to-face consultation with one of our lawyers then please contact our Hamilton office at 609-789-0779. One of our DUI attorneys would be glad to discuss your potential options and formulate a game plan that works best to suit your needs. Our office serves all of Mercer County, including Trenton, Ewing, Hopewell, Hightstown, Robbinsville and East Windsor.

Other Information about Driving Under Influence Related Charges in NJ