Ewing NJ Assault Lawyer

Charged with Domestic Violence Assault in Ewing NJ?

Local Ewing Assault Lawyer Near MeWhether you have been involved in a fight with a loved one, a friend or a complete stranger in Ewing, New Jersey, the criminal attorneys at Proetta & Oliver can help. The attorneys at our office have been representing clients charged with both simple and aggravated assault in courts throughout Mercer County including the Ewing Municipal Court for years. As you will see below, these types of charges carry some rather catastrophic consequences if convicted. So whether you are a college student attending The College of New Jersey or life long resident of Ewing, if you have been charged with simple assault or aggravated assault, we can help. If you would like to speak with one of the attorneys at Proetta & Oliver about your options then please contact us at (609)789-0779.

Need Local Ewing NJ Simple Assault Lawyer

If the assault charges are classified as an act of domestic violence then it is crucial that you speak to an experienced Ewing criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Anyone charged with this form of assault will most likely end up spending at least 48 hours in the Mercer County Jail waiting for a bail to be set. In addition, if the facts are egregious enough, the Mercer County Prosecutor’s Office may file for what is known as a Detention Hearing. If that is to occur, they will be seeking to have the Defendant held in the Mercer County Jail, without bail, pending trial. The lawyers at Proetta & Oliver are dedicated to making sure that a simply mistake does not affect your future. If you would like to have a face to face consultation with Mr. Oliver then please do not hesitate to contact us at. We can discuss the specific facts of your case and provide you with our honest feedback on how we think we can be of assistance. As always, our initial consultations are free of costs.

Are Simple Assault Charges in Ewing Serious?

Anyone charged with simple assault in Ewing will be summonsed to appear in the Ewing Municipal Court to answer the charges. That is regardless of whether or not the charges are classified as an act of domestic violence. It is important to note here, if a temporary restraining order (TRO) is filed, then that is in addition to the criminal charges. The TRO is actually civil in nature and would need to be litigated in the Family Division of the Mercer County Superior Court, which is located in Trenton. For more information on how to defend a restraining order in New Jersey please click the link.   Although simple assault is the lowest level assault charge in New Jersey, the potential penalties if convicted are severe. The governing statute in New Jersey for simple assault is 2C:12-1(a). New Jersey classifies this crime as a disorderly persons offense, which is their version of a misdemeanor. If convicted, a Defendant would be facing up to six months in the Mercer County Jail, a fine up to $1,000, a no contact order, court ordered anger management, community service and probation. For more information on how to defend simple assault charges in Mercer County, please click the link.

Charged with Aggravated Assault in Ewing, New Jersey?

Regardless of whether you have been charged with aggravated assault in the second, third or fourth degree in the Township of Ewing they will all be considered felony offenses. New Jersey has chosen to break down the aggravated assault statute into various different subsections. Each subsection in essence covers different potential conduct. For more information on each specific subsection and possible defenses, please see our Mercer County aggravated assault practice series. Anyone charged with aggravated assault in Ewing will be forced to appear in the Mercer County Superior Courthouse, which is located in Trenton to litigate those charges. So this is in stark contrast to the simple assault charges discussed above. With that being said, the Mercer County Prosecutor’s Office does have the ability to remand the felony aggravated assault charges back to the Ewing Municipal Court if the facts support such. If that is to occur, the pending felony aggravated assault charges will be downgraded to simple assault charges. That means that a Defendant could go from potentially facing up to a decade in a State Prison to facing a max of six months in the Mercer County Jail. For more information on these types of charges, please do not hesitate to contact our office at (609) 789-0779.

Ewing NJ Domestic Violence Assault Lawyers

Whether you have been charged with aggravated assault or simple assault in Ewing, New Jersey it is important that you speak to an attorney about your options. Hiring the right attorney, one who knows the ins and outs of the Ewing Municipal Court can go a long way to alleviating the inevitable stress that comes along with being charged with a criminal offense. If you would like to speak with one of our Ewing assault defense attorneys today about your options then please contact us at 609-789-0779 or leave us an email. Do not let a simple lapse in judgement ruin your future.