Driving While Suspended

Hamilton NJ Driving While Suspended Lawyers

If you or a loved one has been issued a summons for driving while suspended in Mercer County it is crucial that you speak to an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Although this offense is traffic in nature, the penalties can range drastically. In fact, under certain circumstances, a Defendant can be charged with a fourth degree felony offense for driving while suspended. The penalties under those circumstances can range up to 18 months in a State Prison with a mandatory 180 days parole ineligibility period. If you have been issued a summons for driving while suspended, driving without insurance, speeding, driving while intoxicated, tailgating, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident or any other offense for that matter in Mercer County, Proetta & Oliver can help. If you would like to speak to one of our Mercer County criminal defense lawyers, then please contact us at (609)789-0779.

At Proetta & Oliver we fully understand what a lengthy licenses suspension let alone a lengthy prison sentence can to do to someones life. Do not make the mistake of just thinking that since it is a traffic offense that “it is not that big of a deal”. The potential penalties that one faces for driving while suspended in New Jersey can be worse than most disorderly persons offenses. If you would like to speak to one of our criminal defense attorneys about your options then please contact us at (609)789-0779. We serve all of Mercer County, including towns like Hamilton, Trenton, Lawrenceville, East Windsor, West Windsor, Ewing, Hightstown, Princeton and Robbinsville.

Driving while Suspended Attorneys in Princeton NJ

As previously stated, New Jersey takes driving while suspended charges very seriously. Furthermore, driving while suspended is an enhanceable offense in New Jersey. Meaning that the penalties will drastically increase for every second or subsequent conviction. To make matters worse, driving while suspended charges never go away. All driving while suspended charges will be governed by NJSA 39:3-40. The statute states in pertinent part:

  • 39:3-40. No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose driver’s license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.

    Fine

    Jail Time

    License Loss

    First Offense

    $500

    Not to Exceed 6 Months

    Second Offense

    $750

    1 to 5 Days

    Not to Exceed 6 Months

    Third or Subsequent Offense

    $1,000

    Mandatory 10 Days

    Not to Exceed 6 Months

    If the Defendant is convicted of driving while suspended as a result of a DWI, the Defendant must be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 10 days in the Mercer County Jail. If it is the Defendant’s second driving while suspended or the Defendant’s suspension was as a result of a second or subsequent conviction, the Defendant will be charged with fourth degree felony. NJSA 43-6 is the felony level driving while suspended statute. If convicted, a Defendant must sentenced to a term of imprisonment not to exceed 18 months but not less than 6 months. If you would like to speak to one of our Mercer County traffic defense attorneys then please contact us at (609) 789-0779.

Ewing NJ Driving While Suspended Attorneys

If you have been charged with a traffic offense like driving while suspended, eluding, speeding, reckless driving, careless driving, leaving the scene of an accident or any other offense in Mercer County, Proetta & Oliver can help. If you would like to speak to one of our traffic lawyers about your options then please contact us at 609-789-0779. We serve all of Mercer County including Trenton, Pennington, Lawrence, Hightstown, Robbinsville, Hopewell, Princeton and West Windsor. Do not take these charges lightly, the consequences can be devastating if not handled properly.