Crystal Meth

Mercer County NJ Crystal Meth Attorneys

We Defend Clients Charged with Methamphetamine Offenses in NJ

If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with possessing or distributing methamphetamine, also known a crystal meth, in Mercer County, it is imperative that you speak to an experienced drug defense lawyer about your options. Anyone charged with possessing crystal meth in New Jersey will be facing a third degree felony offense, regardless of the quantity. The penalties if convicted can be devastating, they include not only a fine up to $35,000 but up to five years in a State Prison as well. Conversely, if a Defendant is caught distributing methamphetamine, they could be facing up to twenty (20) years in a State Prison and a fine up to $200,000.  As you can tell, these are very serious charges and ones that should not be taken lightly. If you would like to speak to one of our Mercer County drug defense attorneys today about your options then please contact us at (609)789-0779.

Mr. Oliver, one of the firm’s founding partners has been defending clients accused of various drug offenses in towns throughout Mercer County including towns like Hamilton, Lawrence, Trenton, Robbinsville, Hopewell, West Windsor and Princeton for years now. Whether you have been charged with possessing crystal meth, possessing marijuana under 50 grams or distributing cocaine, we can help. Our Mercer County drug defense lawyers have the experience and skill set needed to defend these types of charges. Most drug offenses revolve around some form of a search and/or seizure. Our attorneys are well versed in New Jersey’s search and seizure laws and as a result are able to spot issues very easily. If you would like to sit down with one of our attorneys to discuss the specific facts of your case today, then please contact us at (609)789-0779. For more information on not only the possession of crystal meth but the distribution of it as well please see below.

Crystal Meth Charges in Lawrenceville NJ

Anyone caught possessing crystal meth will be charged with a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a. N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a governs all drug possession offenses in New Jersey besides prescription legend drugs. Since crystal meth is considered a schedule III narcotic in New Jersey, anyone caught possessing it will be charged with a third degree felony. As touch upon above, that is regardless of the amount. So, if you were caught possessing even a trace amount of crystal meth, you will still be facing third degree felony charge. With that being said, anyone caught possessing more than a few grams will most likely be charged with possession of crystal meth with the intent to distribute as well. In New Jersey, the prosecutors have really three different theories in which they can try and establish that a certain individual possessed a controlled dangerous substance. Those theories are actual possession, constructive possession and joint possession. The first theory is rather straightforward, however, the last two can prove to be rather difficult to establish. This is where an experienced Mercer County drug possession defense attorney can make a difference. Not only can they seek to exploit the underlying search and/or seizure but the can attack the state’s proofs with regards to the “possession” aspect.  

Can I go to Jail for Possessing Methamphetamine in NJ?

Possession of crystal meth is a third degree felony offense in New Jersey. If convicted, a Defendant would be facing anywhere from three (3) to five (5) years in a State Prison, a fine up to $35,000, a felony criminal record, community service, a court ordered rehab and up to a six (6) month loss of license as well.

Crystal Meth Distribution Lawyers in Mercer County NJ

Whether you have been charged with manufacturing meth, distributing meth or possessing meth with the intent to distribute, the degree in which you will be charged with is directly related to the quantity of meth seized. As you would imagine, the higher the degree the stiffer the penalties as well. Here is a breakdown in the different degrees and the potential penalties that would apply.

A Defendant seized with more than 5 ounces will be charged with a 1st Degree Felony

  • 10 to 20 years in a State Prison;
    • A parole ineligibility term is the norm here as well.
  • $200,000 Fine;
  • Felony Criminal Record;
  • Community Service;
  • 6 Month License Loss

A Defendant seized with more than 1/2 ounce but less than 5 ounces will be charged with a 2nd Degree Felony

  • 5 to 10 years in a State Prison;
    • A parole ineligibility term is the may come into play.
  • $150,000 Fine;
  • Felony Criminal Record;
  • Community Service;
  • 6 Month License Loss

A Defendant seized with less than a 1/2 ounce will be charged with a 3rd Degree Felony

  • 3 to 5 years in a State Prison;
  • $35,000 Fine;
  • Felony Criminal Record;
  • Community Service;
  • 6 Month License Loss

Crystal Meth Attorneys in Mercer County NJ

If you have been charged with a drug offense like possession of heroin, possession of Molly, possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute or cocaine distribution, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Our Mercer County drug possession defense have been appearing in courts throughout Mercer County for almost a decade now. If you have been arrested and charged with a crime in Trenton, Lawrence, Ewing, Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton, East Windsor or elsewhere in Mercer County it is crucial that you speak to a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your options. For a free consultation today with one of our attorneys please contact us at (609)789-0779.