Our experienced criminal defense attorneys represent clients against State and Federal criminal charges in Mercer County, NJ, from Speeding and DUI offenses to Aggravated Assault and Domestic Violence Restraining Orders GET A FREE CONSULTATION
Have you or your child been placed under arrest and charged with a crime at The College of New Jersey (TCNJ)? If so, you are not alone. It is well known by now that college life breeds an environment that is surrounded by lavish and frequent partying. It is no secret that this atmosphere leads to underage drinking and even experimenting with drugs. Law enforcement is well aware of what college life can involve, as such, these areas tend to be heavily patrolled by not only campus security but the local police department as well. Therefore, it should be no surprise to hear that the number of arrests tend to increase in and around college areas and TCNJ is no different. Anyone arrested and charged with a criminal offense at or around the TCNJ will most likely end up litigating the charges in either the Ewing Municipal Court or the Mercer County Superior Court. As you will see below, the court that retains jurisdiction over the charges will directly depend on the degree of the crime charged. If you or your child has been charged with a criminal offense at TCNJ or elsewhere in Mercer County, we strongly urge that you contact an attorney as soon as possible. A criminal conviction can have an absolutely devastating impact on someone’s life, especially someone that is young and just about to embark on their future. To speak to one of our experienced Ewing criminal defense lawyers then please contact our local law office at 609-789-0779 or you can contact us online.
Charged with Underage Drinking at TCNJ?
Just like almost every other college in the Country, by far one of the most common criminal charges issued at The College of New Jersey is underage drinking. This offense, which is rather self explanatory, is governed by NJSA 2C:33-15. This offense, which is labeled as “Possession, consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons under legal age” states in pertinent part that:
- Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle, is guilty of a disorderly persons offense, and shall be fined not less than $500.
So, as you can see, this offense covers not only the underage consumption but it also includes the purchase as well as the possession of alcoholic beverages by anyone under the legal age. This is considered a disorderly persons offense, which is New Jersey’s version of a misdemeanor. If convicted, the individual will be facing up to six months in jail, a fine not less than $500 but not more than $1,000, a criminal record and a potential six month loss of license. For more information on underage drinking charges at TCNJ, please click the link.
Facing Marijuana Possession Charge at The College of New Jersey
Charged with possessing marijuana under 50 grams of marijuana at TCNJ? Although there has been a tremendous amount of speculation surrounding the legalization or at least decriminalization of marijuana throughout New Jersey, the fact of the matter is that it still illegal and law enforcement is still aggressively investigating and charging those caught possessing marijuana. Possession of marijuana under 50 grams is a disorderly persons offense. If convicted, the individual will be facing up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, approximately $800 worth of fees and assessments, a six month loss of license and a criminal record. A criminal conviction for a drug offense will certainly effect an individuals ability to gain meaningful employment. That is why we strongly urge that you do not take these types of charges lightly. For more information on possession of marijuana under 50 gram charges or other drug related offenses in Ewing Township, please click the corresponding links.
Arrested for Assault at TCNJ?
Anyone arrested and charged with assault at The College of New Jersey could be facing either a disorderly persons offense or an indictable offense depending on the facts of case. If the individual is charged with simple assault then their charges will be sent to Ewing Municipal Court for disposition. This is the lowest level assault charge in New Jersey but with that being said, if convicted, the individual is facing six months in jail, a $1,000 fine and a criminal record. If the individual is charged with aggravated assault, then the charges will be transferred to the Mercer County Superior Court, which is located in Trenton for disposition. Aggravated assault is an indictable offense, which is New Jersey’s version of a felony and depending on the degree, the individual could be facing up to a decade behind bars. For more information on aggravated assault charges in Mercer County, please click the link. As you can see, these are not the type of charges to take lightly. Please do not let an alcohol fueled lapses in judgement jeopardize your future. To speak to one of our Ewing criminal defense attorneys today, please call our office at 609-789-0779.
Ewing Criminal Defense Attorney for Arrest at TCNJ
If you have been arrested and charged with a criminal offense at The College of New Jersey or elsewhere in Ewing Township, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. The Ewing Municipal Court, which retains jurisdiction over the vast majority of incidents at TCNJ, takes a very aggressive approach when it comes prosecuting those accused of underage drinking, driving while intoxicated, simple assault, disorderly conduct, resisting arrest and possession of marijuana. That is why we strongly urge that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Ewing Township as soon as possible to at least discuss your options. The ramifications can be absolutely devastating. To set up a free initial consultation today, please contact us directly at 609-789-0779.