Our experienced criminal defense attorneys represent clients against State and Federal criminal charges in Mercer County, NJ, from Speeding and DUI offenses to Aggravated Assault and Domestic Violence Restraining Orders GET A FREE CONSULTATION
2nd Offense DUI Lawyer in Hamilton NJ
As most are well aware of by this point, driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges in New Jersey are enhanceable offense. Meaning that the penalties drastically increase for any second or subsequent conviction, regardless of whether the first conviction occurred in New Jersey or not. Therefore, if you find yourself in this situation, it is crucial that you speak to a knowledgable New Jersey DUI defense attorney as soon as possible.
At Proetta & Oliver we fully comprehend the potential ramifications that a second DUI offense can have on someones life not to mention their loved ones as well. As such, we are dedicated to aggressively attacking the State’s proofs in order to obtain a desirable outcome for our clients. Our office serves all of Mercer County, including Hamilton, Lawrenceville, Robbinsville, Ewing, Trenton, West Windsor, Princeton and East Windsor. If you would like to speak to one of our defense lawyers about your options, then please contact our Hamilton office at 609.789.0779. We offer free initial in depth consultations, so if you have any questions whatsoever, please do not hesitate to contact us. Now here is some key information on second offense DUI’s, including the potential penalties if convicted.
Robbinsville NJ 2nd Offense DWI Defense Lawyer
Contrary to what most people think, New Jersey does not differentiate between a driving under the influence (DUI) and a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge. The two offenses are in essence used interchangeable and both will be governed under NJSA 39:4-50. NJSA 39:4-50 prohibits
“A person [from] operat[ing] a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood…”
For more information on DWI charges in New Jersey, please click the link and checkout our DWI practice area.
Is There Jail Time for a 2nd DWI in NJ?
As touched upon above, the penalties for a second or subsequent DWI conviction drastically increase then from that of a first offense conviction. Those penalties include the following:
- 2 Year Loss of License;
- $500 to $1000 Fine;
- 2 to 90 Days in Jail;
- 30 Days of Community Service;
- $1,000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 Years;
- Imposition of the Ignition Interlock Device; &
- 48 Hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center.
Just as with first offense DWI charges, New Jersey prohibits plea bargaining as well with second offenses. Just another reason why it is strongly recommend that you contact an experienced DWI defense lawyer immediately. If you have been arrested for a second DUI offense in Mercer County and would like to speak to one of our attorneys about your options, then please contact our office at 609-789-0779.
West Windsor NJ 2nd Offense DUI Attorneys
If you or a loved one has been placed under arrest for driving while intoxicated, endangering the welfare of a child, driving under the influence of drugs, refusal to submit a breath sample, assault by auto or any other criminal offense in Mercer County, the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. As you can tell from reading above, the potential penalties associated with a second offense DUI can be crippling. So, if you would like to sit down with one of our DUI defense attorneys about your options, then please contact our office at 609-789-0779 or you can try contacting us online. We serve all of Mercer County, including Hightstown, Hopewell, Ewing, Robbinsville and West Windsor.